The 10th Caine Prize (2009)

The Caine Prize for African Writing is named in memory of the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker Plc. The prize is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. The short story should have between 3,000 and 10,000 words. For the sake of this award an African writer is taken to mean "someone who was born in Africa, or who is a national of an African country, or whose parents are Africans, and whose work has reflected African sensibilities."
The First Prize was awarded in 2000, at the Zimbabwe International Book Fair 2000. This year's (2009) short list included:
  1. Mamle Kabu (Ghana) The End of Skill from "Dreams, Miracles and Jazz"; published by Picador Africa, Johannesburg, 2008;
  2. Parselelo Kantai (Kenya) You Wreck Her from the St. Petersburg Review, NY 2008;
  3. Alistair Morgan (South Africa) Icebergs from The Paris Review no. 183, NY 2008;
  4. E.C. Osondu (Nigeria) Waiting from, Octover 2008;
  5. Mukoma wa Ngugi (Kenya) How Kamau wa Mwangi Escaped into Exile from "Wasafiri" No. 54, Summer 2008.
The Award was won by Nigeria's E.C. Osondu for Waiting from, October 2008. Click here for more on this award.


  1. ha! some books to check out eh?
    Thanks for this.

    also see the baobab prize - another African literary award.

  2. Thanks for the information. These things do help a lot. Thanks very much.


Post a Comment

Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

10. Unexpected Joy at Dawn: My Reading

69. The Clothes of Nakedness by Benjamin Kwakye, A Review

Quotes for Friday from Ola Rotimi's The Gods Are not to Blame I