Monday, August 22, 2011

Reading the Caine Prize Shortlists

A blogger friend asked me once whether I've read the winning story of this year's Caine Prize. I was ashamed to have responded in the negative. Consequently, I have decided to read all the shortlisted stories from 2009 to 2011, the ones I have (or have downloaded). Reviews would be posted every Wednesday and Saturday till I complete them all.

About the Prize: The first prize was awarded in 2000, at the Zimbabwe International Book Fair 2000 in Harare, and the 2001 Prize at the Nairobi Book Fair in September 2001. The winner is announced at a dinner in Oxford in July, to which the shortlisted candidates are all invited. This is part of a week of activities for the candidates, including bookreadings, booksignings and press opportunities. (Read more here)


  1. Very cool project! I look forward to hearing more!

  2. expect the first review on Wednesday.

  3. Frankly, I had read the 2011 shortlists. A bit underwhelming and given that I was in a blogging funk, I opted not to cover them on the blog. I'm blogging more these days so I might join you. Anyways, happy reading.

  4. @Kinna. I heard same. It's somewhat depressing. And similar storylines keep winning. Anyways, I am only reading to satisfy my curiousity.


Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Featured post

Njoroge, Kihika, & Kamiti: Epochs of African Literature, A Reader's Perspective

Source Though Achebe's Things Fall Apart   (1958) is often cited and used as the beginning of the modern African novel written in E...