Commonwealth Awards

I read from The Bookaholic Blog that the winners for the Commonwealth Short Story Competition has been published. Once again, Nigeria, a country known for great literary talents such as Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe, Ben Okri, Christopher Okigbo, Immomotime Okara, E.C. Osondu, Chimamanda Adichie, Elechi Amadi etc,  dominated the awards. 

My belief in Nigerian writers has once again been affirmed by the confirmation of these awards. Nigeria abounds literary talents, and there are rich stories in Nigeria. However, just like any other country and any other profession, fame easily comes to the writer if he escapes the boundary of Africa and sojourn in an European or Western country, even if for awhile.

The Regional Winner for Africa: Kachi A. Ozumba of Nigeria for The One-Armed Thief

Winners of the Highly Commended Stories include:
Ayobami Adebayo of Nigeria for Dreams
Akiwumi Akinwale of Nigeria for LFO
Mbofun Carlang of Nigeria for The Father's Blessings

Read the rest here or there


  1. I'm glad to hear that Nigerian writers continue to be recognized for major global awards like the Commonwealth. Yay! The rest of the world needs to know what good stuff y'all have going on.

  2. Hi Marie, yeah! they have some really good writers. I hope Ghana would keep up. We are coming up with some equally good writers.


Post a Comment

Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

10. Unexpected Joy at Dawn: My Reading

Quotes for Friday from Ola Rotimi's The Gods Are not to Blame I

69. The Clothes of Nakedness by Benjamin Kwakye, A Review