Tuesday, April 12, 2011

The Orange Prize for Fiction 2011 Shortlist

The Orange Prize for Fiction has announced its shortlist for the 2011 prize. From the long-list of 20 books written by women, the shortlist is made up of 6 books from different parts of the world. The number of African women authors have also dropped from 3 to 1: The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna. Below is the list:
  • Room by Emma Donoghue 
  • The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
  • Grace Williams Says it Loud by Emma Henderson
  • Great House by Nicole Krauss
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht
  • Annabel by Kathleen Winter
Click here for the full announcement. We wish Aminatta Forna well in this award.


  1. What a tight race. See, clearly, the race is between Anabel, Room and The Memory of Love! Aw! what else can I add other than to wish Aminatta the very best.

  2. @Geosi indeed this is a very tight race. It'd be difficult but i hope Forna wins

  3. @Whitman yes we wish them all the best

  4. I hope Room takes the prize!

  5. @Zibilee...lol. Let's wait and see. lol

  6. I really hope Room will win. it was good, and disturbing

  7. I have heard and read good reviews about Room. A book i would love to read.


Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Featured post

Njoroge, Kihika, & Kamiti: Epochs of African Literature, A Reader's Perspective

Source Though Achebe's Things Fall Apart   (1958) is often cited and used as the beginning of the modern African novel written in E...