Tuesday, October 01, 2013

Golden Baobab Prizes Announce 2013 Judges

Now in its 5th year, the Golden Baobab Prizes for African children's literature were established in July 2008 to inspire the creation of enthralling African children's stories by gifted African writers. The prizes invite entries of unpublished stories written by African citizens irrespective of age, race, or country of origin. 

Formerly known as the Baobab Prize, the Golden Baobab Prizes are the most prestigious annual awards for stories by Africans for African children. The evaluation process of the prizes is two-tiered: the reading session and the judging session. The longlist was announced after the reading session. The judging session begins October 1, 2013. The 2013 judges are:
  • Esi Sutherland-Addy - Educator
  • Bernardine Evaristo - Author
  • Osayimwense Osa - Author, Editor, and Professor
  • Nonikiwe Mashologu - Children's literature reviewer
  • Zetta Elliot - Author and Educator
  • Ahment Farah - Winner of the 2010 Golden Baobab Rising Writer Prize
Nonikiwe Mashologu, Chairperson of the International Board on Books for young People South African branch (IBBY SA) says:
I have been involved with the Golden Baobab Prizes for about 3 years as a reader and so I am aware of the absolutely wonderful work being done. I am honored to be a judge for this year's award because I am always so happy to add and contribute to literature of African children.
The judges will use three weeks in October to read the longlist and the final week in October to decide on the winners for each prize:
  • The Golden Baobab Prize for Picture Book;
  • The Golden Baobab Prizes for Early Chapter Books; and
  • The Golden Baobab Prize for Rising Writers.
The winners of the Golden Baobab Prizes will be announced on November 13, 2013 and will receive US$ 1,000, the opportunity to publish with and receive royalties from Golden Baobab top tier African and international publishers, the benefit of increased publicity that comes with being named a Golden Baobab winner, and opportunities to attend exclusive Golden Baobab workshops. In addition to the above, the winner of the Golden Baobab Prize for Rising Writers will serve on the prestigious panel of judges for the 2014 Golden Baobab Prizes, bringing a critical young perspective to the evaluation process. 

Nanama B. Acheampong, the coordinator of the Prizes stated
We're really excited to see the prize become bigger and better each year. We're looking to form meaningful partnerships with corporations that share in our vision of a world overflowing with African children's books and are willing to help make it happen.
Last year's judges were CNN hero, Yohannes Gebregeorgis, professor and author; Vivian Yenika-Agbaw, publishing expert; Carol Broomhall, award-winning author; Atinuke Akinyemi Sears, doctor and award-winning author; Kopano Matlwa; and accomplished librarian, Tanja Galetti.

For further information, photos or to arrange interviews please contact: Nanama B. Acheampong via info@goldenbaobab.org, Tel: +233302265215, or website: www.goldenbaobab.org

No comments:

Post a Comment

Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Featured post

Njoroge, Kihika, & Kamiti: Epochs of African Literature, A Reader's Perspective

Source Though Achebe's Things Fall Apart   (1958) is often cited and used as the beginning of the modern African novel written in E...