Friday, August 16, 2013

NLNG Longlist

The Advisory Board of the Nigerian Liquefied Natural Gas, NLNG, sponsor of the Nigeria Prize Literature, on Monday announced a shortlist of 11 books out of 201 books submitted for the 2013 edition of the prize. This year, the biggest literary prize on the continent, will focus on poetry. The list was arrived after after months of intensive scrutiny by a panel of judges led by renowned poet and literary critic Prof. Romanus Egudu of Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu. The shortlisted books are:

  1. Letter Home and Biafran Nights by Akeh Afam
  2. Symphony of Becoming by Eke Iquo
  3. Birthcry by Nwakanma Obi
  4. Wild Letters by Ogochukwu Promise
  5. Globetrotter and Hitler's Children by Ede Amatoritsero
  6. Marsh Boy and Other Poems by Egbewo G'ebinyo
  7. Length of Eyes by Gomba Obari
  8. The Sahara Testaments by Ipadeola Tade
  9. Seven Stations up the Stairwel by Launko Kinba (pen name for Femi Osofisan)
  10. Through the Window of a Sandcastle by Nnadi Amu
  11. Sea of My Mind by Raji Remi
The winner of the US$ 100,000 cash prize will be announced in October from a final shortlist of three. The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children's literature. Last year it was won by Chika Unigwe for On Black Sisters' Street (prose fiction). Source

No comments:

Post a Comment

Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Featured post

Njoroge, Kihika, & Kamiti: Epochs of African Literature, A Reader's Perspective

Source Though Achebe's Things Fall Apart   (1958) is often cited and used as the beginning of the modern African novel written in E...