Thursday, May 01, 2014

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2014 Shortlist

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize announced its 2014 shortlist on April 30 for the different geographic areas: Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean and Pacific.

  • Ikanre by Adelehin Ijasan (Nigeria)
  • All Them Savages by Michelle Sacks (South Africa)
  • Let’s Tell This Story Properly by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (Uganda)

  • Grandmother by Yu-Mei Balasingamchow (Singapore)
  • A Day in the Death by Sara Adam Ang (Singapore)

Canada and Europe
  • The Night of Broken Glass by Jack Wang (Canada)
  • On The Other Side by Idrissa Simmonds (Canada)
  • Agnes Agnes Agnes by Luiza Sauma (United Kingdom)
  • Household Gods by Tracy Fells (United Kingdom)
  • Killing Time by Lucy Caldwell (United Kingdom)

  • Cowboy by Helen Klonaris (Bahamas)
  • Sending for Chantal by Maggie Harris (Guyana)
  • Miss Annie Cooks Fish by Charmaine Rousseau (Trinidad and Tobago)

  • The Dog and the Sea by Lucy Treloar (Australia)
  • Monkey Boy by Janine Mikosza (Australia)
  • Hummingbird by Daniel Anders (Australia)
  • Playing the Stringless Guitar by Michael Hunt (Australia)
  • Tenure by Julian Novitz (New Zealand)
  • Rhododendrons in Mist by David Kerkt (New Zealand)
Read more about the shortlisted authors here

No comments:

Post a Comment

Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Featured post

Njoroge, Kihika, & Kamiti: Epochs of African Literature, A Reader's Perspective

Source Though Achebe's Things Fall Apart   (1958) is often cited and used as the beginning of the modern African novel written in E...