Wednesday, October 05, 2011

The New Face of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and Short Story Competition

The Commonwealth Foundation are (have) reviewed the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and the Short Story Competition.

Commonwealth Book Prize
Awarded for best first book, this prize is open to writers who have had their first novel (full length work of fiction) published in 2011. Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £10,000. 
Both prizes will aim to unearth new writers from across the Commonwealth, with the Writers' Prize giving awards for the best first book only. The prizes will also be complemented by a series of outreach activities in identified countries in order to support aspiring writers.
Thus, unlike previous years when awards were given to both best first book and first book, the new look will only consider 'best first book.'

Commonwealth Short Story Prize
Awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction. Regional winners receive £1,000 and the overall winner receives £5,000.

The new look prizes will be launched in October and request for entries will be opened on October, 18.


  1. I am wondering if this new face is the best because it would mean that if you're not a first time writer, you can't enter into the award. Or what do you think, Nana.

  2. @Geosi, exactly. But then the motive now is to bring out new authors. If it is to discover newer authors, then this works best as, for e.g. an established author has a greater opportunity to win an award than a first-time author.

  3. I am a Writer, and The President of "The Commonwealth Writers of The Bahamas".We have not participated in these Literary Events because we were not aware of them. We do seek a closer relationship with you. Also, kindly tell us the name of the contact person for our Region so that we can be involved in "Caribbean' Activities. Thanks.

  4. I don't work for the Commonwealth. Is there any address to which I can send you a contact?


Help Improve the Blog with a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Featured post

Njoroge, Kihika, & Kamiti: Epochs of African Literature, A Reader's Perspective

Source Though Achebe's Things Fall Apart   (1958) is often cited and used as the beginning of the modern African novel written in E...