Sunday, April 05, 2009

Year of Publication: 1800 to 1899

This list excludes single stories. Single stories are uncollected short stories published in magazines, blogs, online newspapers, and other places. It is believed that such stories would be collected by author and later 'formally' published, hence their exclusion.

-1800 to 1819-
  1. Northanger Abbey: Jane Austen
  2. Pride and PrejudiceJane Austen

-1820 to 1839-
  1. The Government Inspector: Nikolai V. Gogol

-1840 to 1859-
  1. Wuthering HeightsEmily Bronte

-1860 to 1879-
  1. Crime and Punishment: Fyodor Dostoevsky
  2. War and Peace (Volume IVolume IIVolume III, & Volume IV) by Leo Tolstoy

-1880 to 1899-
  1. Jude the Obscure: Thomas Hardy
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Featured post

Njoroge, Kihika, & Kamiti: Epochs of African Literature, A Reader's Perspective

Source Though Achebe's Things Fall Apart   (1958) is often cited and used as the beginning of the modern African novel written in E...